Tuesday, December 18, 2007

Belated Reindeer Romp race report (and Week 9)

So, I took one look at the scene outside upon waking up Saturday morning:


and decided this one would be a fun run.

The race was like running through a river of icy slush. I managed a 19:21, good for third in my age group. I have never been so wet in my life! It really wasn't too bad, but the hills were pretty treacherous and I had to be careful of my footing.

No splits or anything (I would not have wished it on anyone to stand out in that weather to call splits!), so there's not much else to say. Let's just say I never enjoyed a hot shower more than the one I took after that race.

The race capped off week 9 of my base training schedule:

Week 9

Sunday, December 9: 9 miles long (9.1 in 1:23:00 > 9:08/mile)
Monday, December 10: 4 miles GA (weights) (35:19 > 8:50/mile)
Tuesday, December 11: off
Wednesday, December 12: LT workout, 7 miles total (weights) (6.3 easy in 1:00:02 > 9:32/mile)
Thursday, December 13: 4 miles easy/GA (37:07 > 9:17/mile)
Friday, December 14: off (weights)
Saturday, December 15: 4K race, 4.5 miles total (4K race in slushy conditions, 19:21 > 7:41/mile)

Target: 28 (27.9)

And here's how Week 10 looks:

Week 10

Sunday, December 16: 12 miles long
Monday, December 17: 5 miles GA (weights)
Tuesday, December 18: 6 miles easy
Wednesday, December 19: LT workout, 8 miles total (weights)
Thursday, December 20: 5 miles easy/GA
Friday, December 21: off (weights)
Saturday, December 22: 4 miles GA

Target: 40
Post a Comment